Reflection of the Class

Strength
I enjoy how students put out their ideas that are not yet matured, expecting to be improved and polished by others through sometimes debatable discussion. In fact we often employed the form of presentation to put our developing ideas of an essay on display, and everyone would give a little piece of advice regarding format, structure and phrasing/wording. It is a new and refreshing form of studying for me. Unlike high school where only teachers would review my essays and the communication would be exclusive, now it is all about the entity of class.

The writing center is definitely a desiring place to be when I want to improve my essays.

I also like how everything we learn can be revisited on Edmodo, so there is no fear of losing materials given. Moreover, the website allows students and teachers to communicate casually but directly outside of classroom.

In addition I am glad we have Madhav as our English teacher because we share similar cultural and social values. Above all he had been where we curretly are now in learning english, meaning he understood how we struggle to write as the Americans do and hence gave us applicable advice.

Weakness
I feel like the class could be wearing sometimes, possibly because we have it every day.
I have done almost everything I learned in the past so personally it could seem repetitive sometimes, but MLA formatting is for sure an exception which I definitely benefited from the class.

Suggestion
I would expect essay assignments to be announced at least 4 days prior to due dates, on behalf of the next class. 🙂

Leave a comment